This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now
+33 148748593
Book Now

Absinthe et Histoire

  • absinthe2
  • 26627849
  • 26627975

Absinthe et Histoire du Quartier

Absinthe was a popular drink in the cafés and cabarets of Paris and Montmartre in the 19th century. The Hotel Royal Fromentin Paris explores the history of absinthe in a book written by Marie-Claude Delahaye, author of numerous works about absinthe and founder of the Musée de l’Absinthe in Auvers-sur-Oise. Let your imagination wander as you sip a glass of absinthe in the authentic bar of the former Don Juan Cabaret. Discover the absinthe ritual just as Van Gogh, Toulouse Lautrec, Baudelaire and so many others did before you.

Here are some excerpts from this book now available at the hotel. Discover our quartier the way it was during the exciting period, la Belle Époque, at the end of the 19th century.

In the heart of Paris, in a neighbourhood steeped in history, the Hotel Royal Fromentin is the ideal spot to step back in time and discover absinthe. It was indeed a tradition in this area of Paris where the Belle Époque poets and artists gathered, leaving a rich artistic legacy. At the junction of the famous quartiers of New Athens, Saint Georges and Montmartre, the rue Fromentin witnessed artists, poets, writers and performers on their way to the numerous cafés and cabarets in the area. And absinthe, the fashionable drink at the time, was served everywhere.

Often called “the Green Fairy” or “the Muse”, absinthe was the inspiration of many an artist. Absinthe vapours floated in the air, their heady anise scent escaping out on to the Grands Boulevards where cafés flourished and the atmosphere was carefree. From one café to the next, noisy groups of revelers made their way, sustained by numerous libations. The lobby of the hotel, formerly the Don Juan cabaret, has preserved all the charm of its origins with its wooden beams and painted wood paneling, its two great chimneys and its caryatids. Settle comfortably into one of the armchairs, in the heart of this quartier where so many famous artists once lived. Let your imagination wander down its streets where the fragrance of absinthe seems to linger magically yet.

 Absinthe, a legendary spirit sung by great poets and portrayed by the most illustrious of painters, appreciated by all, and finally outlawed in France in 1915, absinthe today is experiencing a rebirth. The Green Fairy has not cast her last spell! Worshipped but then banished, accused of driving men mad, absinthe today, without its most harmful ingredients, no longer presents the neurotoxic dangers of its 19th century version.

Originating in Switzerland in the canton of Neuchâtel in 1798, the result of an old woman’s interest in mixing the plants she found on the mountainside, absinthe was brought to France in 1805 by Pernod and became the popular beverage among the bourgeoisie and the artists. It was the fashionable drink, more expensive than wine until about 1860, when the working classes began to acquire a taste for it. More common, cheaper and often falsified, the Green Fairy became the Wicked Fairy, blamed for all the ills of humanity. Outlawed, absinthe was abandoned by history for a century before new generations began to take interest in it once again.

Discover the Convivial Absinthe Ritual. When staying at the Hotel Royal Fromentin, you too can experience this extremely convivial ritual that made absinthe so popular a century ago. An aperitif drink with anise flavour served with ice water, absinthe was prepared in a very elaborate manner which made the cocktail hour so unique that it became known as the “green” hour.

“Mystify” your absinthe by pouring it into a glass and then placing a slotted spoon with a cube of sugar on the rim of the glass. Let the water penetrate, drop by drop, slowly dissolving the sugar into the absinthe. A veritable alchemy occurs between the water and plant essences as pale green swirls spiral up through the glass. The pleasure, first visual, becomes aromatic and slowly prepares the palate for a taste experience. The green-eyed muse thus set free will release your imagination.

You are now ready to embark on the discovery of this mythical « quartier » where so many famous artists savoured absinthe before you.

A Stroll through Time … 

As you leave the hotel, head toward the Place Blanche, have a look at the Moulin Rouge where Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec sketched la Goulue, Valentin le Desossé and all the colourful characters that frequented the famous music hall. Toulouse-Lautrec drank small quantities, but very often, and was never seen without his cane and its incorporated flask and glass. Since he loved absinthe as much as cognac, he concocted for his friends, singers Yvette Guilbert and Aristide Bruant, a powerful mixture of his two favourite drinks which he dubbed “the earthquake”! 

In 1896, Toulouse-Lautrec lived in a room just down the street from the Hotel Royal Fromentin at number 30 rue de la Fontaine. Previously, between 1887 and 1893, he had lived at number 19 with his childhood friend, Doctor Henri Bourges.

If you continue down rue Henner, have a thought for Guillaume Apollinaire who lived on the second floor at number 9 from 1901 to 1907. Although he had nothing against absinthe, he did not mention it in his anthology “Alcools” in 1913. Further along, you will arrive at the Square La Bruyère where George Sand lived in 1841 in two cottages surrounded by a big garden; she sublet one of the cottages to Frederick Chopin to facilitate their passionate liaison.

Delacroix came to the Square La Bruyère to give painting lessons to her son Maurice for eight years. Delacroix would be the only member of a jury to vote in favour of Manet’s Absinthe Drinker which was refused at the Salon of 1859.

Now take the rue de la Tour des Dames. Vincent Van Gogh lived at number 8 on the fourth floor in 1890. He had taken refuge in his brother’s apartment there for several months before leaving for Auvers-sur-Oise where he committed suicide on July 27th of the same year. Converted to absinthe by Toulouse-Lautrec and Gauguin, he spent many nights with them at the café Le Tambourin. Van Gogh whose dream was to have his works exhibited, wrote to his brother: “One day or another, I will find a way to do my own exhibition in a café.” These words are particularly significant and demonstrate the difficulty artists had showing their works as well as the important role the café played in the cultural life of the 19 th century.

As you reach rue St Georges, look up to the fourth floor of number 43. Perhaps you will get a glimpse of the Goncourt brothers on their balcony. They lived there from 1850 to 1868 observing and describing the lives of their contemporaries. Suffering from terrible headaches, they were in the habit of putting laudanum in their absinthe, a veritable “liquid hashish” to use their words.

Baudelaire was a regular customer of the Brasserie des Martyrs and as soon as he arrived, he would ask the waiter to remove the carafe of water on the table next to his. “I find the sight of water unbearable.” he would say gravely. He would order wine and quickly down four or five glasses or would absorb successively two or three absinthes with the same nonchalance.

At number 14, rue Clauzel, artists regularly crowded the shop of le Père Tanguy, the paint manufacturer and merchant for the Impressionists and the Nabis. His paints in tubes were the rage, for they gave the artists much greater freedom from their studios. When he arrived in Paris in March 1886, Vincent Van Gogh became a regular client of the shop where he met Cézanne and Emile Bernard. And Guy de Maupassant, famous author of short stories, lived at number 17.

Now take rue Victor Massé. Number 12 was where Rodolphe Salis transferred in 1885 his famous cabaret Le Chat Noir which was initially located at 84 Boulevard Rochechouart. He was joined by poet Emile Goudeau, founder of the Hydropathes club for whom the sight of water was considered unbearable! Famous singer Aristide Bruant, who had purchased from Salis the original Chat Noir, made it into his own cabaret, the Mirliton, immortalized by the poster by Toulouse Lautrec.

At the Count’s request, the sculptor Clesinger did a moulding of Apollonie’s body and made the statue “Woman Bitten by a Serpent” which created a scandal at the 1847 Salon Baudelaire was also in love with Apollonie and sent her, anonymously for five years, his most beautiful love poems. At Apollonie’s dinners, Baudelaire met many other artists and writers including Delacroix, Berlioz, Dumas father and son, and Alfred de Musset.
De Musset, a chess player and absinthe drinker, was a member of the prestigious Académie Française. The remark was made to the secretary of the Académie that Musset missed the dictionary sessions rather often. The secretary replied, “You mean to say that he is often absinthe!

This stroll through time has perhaps fuelled your imagination about this period of history at the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th centuries. Painters and poets lived in this quartier and took the “sip of seduction” from the Muse, the enticing Green Fairy. It was an era when the very word absinthe evoked scenes of smoke-filled cafés when artists met to redesign the world. It was also a time when numerous Parisian cabarets competed with each other to recreate an atmosphere that would lure the nocturnal. Some were romantic, others sought to provoke. And some were outright anti-clerical like the cabaret the Abbey of Thélème.

Anticlericalism was also the tone at the former Don Juan cabaret which existed until the 1950′s and which has now become the lobby of the hotel.

At the reception notice as you enter above the two steps that take you down into the lobby the painted wood paneling representing in the form of a triptych, the scene of the Annunciation to the Virgin Mary by the Archangel Gabriel. Notice as well the chimney of the lobby, which was originally open as it is today. Some historians claim that it is a replica of the chimney in the Chat Noir cabaret. The open hearth, typical in this era of anticlericalism in France, symbolized Hell from which appeared, through a wall of veils and silk “flames”, young dancers in very scanty dress. They were meant to spice up the atmosphere as they mingled with the clients of the Don Juan who apparently included a number of illustrious poets, painters and artists who enjoyed the show as they sipped their absinthe.

Close

Ce site Internet utilise des cookies pour améliorer votre expérience de navigation. En continuant sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des cookies sur votre appareil tel que mentionné dans nos Informations sur les cookies.
Réserver maintenant
+33 148748593
Réserver maintenant

Absinthe et Histoire

  • absinthe2
  • 26627849
  • 26627975

Absinthe et Histoire du Quartier

L’hôtel Royal Fromentin Paris a ressuscité le mythe de l’absinthe à travers un livre écrit par Marie Claude Delahaye, auteur de nombreux ouvrages sur ce thème et fondatrice du musée de l’absinthe à Auvers-sur-Oise. Laissez-vous prendre par l’ambiance mythique de l’ancien cabaret Le Don Juan en dégustant une absinthe au bar de l’hôtel et découvrez ce rituel authentique au coeur de ce quartier comme l’ont fait avant vous Van Gogh, Toulouse Lautrec, Baudelaire et tant d’autres.

Voici quelques extraits de ce livre que nous serons heureux de mettre à votre disposition pour découvrir notre quartier et qui vous entraînera dans le Paris de la Belle Epoque.

Au coeur de Paris, dans un lieu chargé d’histoire, ce n’est pas par hasard si l’hôtel Royal Fromentin vous propose de déguster son absinthe. Il retrouve en cela la grande tradition du quartier qui réunit à la Belle Époque poètes et artistes qui léguèrent leur nom à la postérité. Faisant la jonction entre le Faubourg et son très célèbre quartier de La Nouvelle Athènes, le quartier Saint-Georges et la colline de Montmartre, la rue Fromentin a vu passer tous les artistes, poètes, littérateurs et chansonniers qui se rendaient dans les nombreux cafés et cabarets alentour. L’absinthe à la mode y était partout présente. Fée verte, muse inspiratrice, elle répandait ses suaves vapeurs anisées qui s’échappaient jusque sur les boulevards.

Quittant le Quartier Latin vers 1860, les artistes essaimèrent vers les Grands Boulevards où les cafés s’étaient multipliés et où l’ambiance était plus gaie. Allant d’un café à l’autre, les groupes formant la Bohème y faisaient retentir leurs clameurs bruyantes entretenues par de nombreuses libations. Le Grand Salon de l’Hôtel, ancien cabaret Le Don Juan, a gardé tout le charme de cette époque avec ses poutres et ses boiseries peintes, ses deux grandes cheminées et ses cariatides. Alors, installez-vous confortablement au cœur de ce quartier où ont vécu tant d’hommes devenus célèbres, et laissez flâner votre imagination dans les rues alentours où flotte encore comme un parfum d’absinthe.

L’Absinthe, boisson mythique. Chantée par les poètes, mise en scène et peinte par les artistes les plus illustres et appréciée par tous, l’absinthe interdite en France en 1915 renaît aujourd’hui de ses cendres. La Fée verte n’a pas fini de nous étonner. Adorée puis bannie, accusée de rendre fou, l’absinthe d’aujourd’hui allégée en plante absinthe, ne présente plus les risques neurotoxiques d’antan.

Née en Suisse, dans le canton de Neuchâtel en 1798, par la grâce d’une vieille femme qui aimait à mélanger les plantes qu’elle trouvait dans la montagne, elle franchit la frontière avec un dénommé Pernod et s’installe en France en 1805 où elle acquiert ses lettres de noblesse et devient la boisson fétiche de la bourgeoisie et des artistes. Elle restera une boisson chic, plus chère que le vin jusque vers 1860, date à laquelle le monde ouvrier va commencer à s’y intéresser. Devenue populaire, bon marché et souvent falsifiée, la Fée verte changée en péril vert verra se focaliser sur elle tous les maux de l’humanité. Mise au ban de la société, elle attendait son heure pour apprendre aux nouvelles générations l’histoire de sa gloire passée.

Retrouvez ce rituel convivial. En séjournant à l’Hôtel Royal Fromentin, vous retrouverez ce rituel extrêmement convivial à l’origine du succès de l’absinthe. Boisson apéritive nouvelle par ses saveurs anisées et par l’ajout d’une eau très fraîche, l’absinthe faisait l’objet d’une préparation particulière qui fit de l’heure de l’apéritif un moment si spécial qu’il devint pour tous l’heure verte.

Étonnez votre absinthe en la versant au fond du verre puis en posant sur celui-ci une cuillère percée sur laquelle vous mettrez un sucre. Laissez tomber l’eau goutte à goutte… Sucrée, elle passe à travers les trous de la cuillère et mouille votre absinthe. Véritable alchimie entre l’eau et les essences des plantes, des volutes verdâtres s’élèvent graduellement dans le verre. Aux plaisirs visuel et olfactif peut alors succéder le plaisir gustatif. La muse aux yeux verts libérée va entraîner votre imagination.

Vous êtes maintenant prêt pour partir à la découverte de ce quartier mythique où justement tant d’artistes célèbres ont dégusté leur absinthe avant vous.

Petite flânerie à travers le temps … 

En sortant de l’hôtel, dirigez-vous vers la Place Blanche faire un petit clin d’œil au Moulin Rouge où Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec croqua la Goulue, Valentin le Désossé et tous les personnages hauts en couleur du lieu. Buvant peu à la fois mais souvent, il ne se séparait jamais de sa canne à système munie d’une fiole et d’un petit verre et comme il adorait l’absinthe tout autant que le cognac, il confectionnait pour ses amis les chanteurs Yvette Guilbert et Aristide Bruant, un mélange savant de ses deux breuvages préférés qu’il appelait un tremblement de terre ! 

En 1896, Toulouse-Lautrec occupa une chambre à quelques pas de l’hôtel Royal Fromentin au n°30 de la rue Fontaine. Auparavant, il habita entre 1887 et 1893 au n°19 chez son ami d’enfance le docteur Henri Bourges.

Réjane vantant l’Absinthe Terminus

Si vous continuez par la rue Henner, vous aurez une pensée pour Guillaume Apollinaire qui vécut au deuxième étage du n°9 de 1901 à 1907. Ne dédaignant pas l’absinthe, il ne l’a cependant pas mise en scène dans son recueil Alcools paru en 1913.Un peu plus loin, vous arriverez au Square La Bruyère où George Sand emménagea en 1841 dans deux pavillons entourés d’un grand jardin dont l’un qu’elle sous-loua à Frédéric Chopin pour faciliter leur liaison passionnée.

Delacroix alla y donner des cours de peinture à son fils Maurice durant 8 ans. Delacroix sera le seul membre du jury à voter en faveur du buveur d’absinthe de Manet, refusé au Salon de 1859.

Prenez ensuite la rue de la Tour des Dames. L’immeuble du n°8 accueillit au 4e étage Vincent Van Gogh en 1890. Il était venu se réfugier quelques mois chez son frère avant de partir pour Auvers-sur-Oise, où il se suicida le 27 juillet de la même année. Converti à l’absinthe par Toulouse-Lautrec et Gauguin, ils passaient ensemble des nuits entières au café Le Tambourin. Van Gogh, dont le rêve était d’exposer, écrivait à son frère : “Un jour ou un autre, je trouverai moyen de faire une exposition à moi dans un café”. Cette petite phrase si lourde de sens montre la difficulté d’exposer à l’époque et l’importance du café dans la vie culturelle du XIXe siècle.

En arrivant rue St Georges, levez la tête vers le quatrième étage du n°43. Vous apercevrez peut-être les frères Goncourt à leur balcon. Ils vécurent là de 1850 à 1868, observant et décrivant les travers de leurs contemporains. Souffrant d’effroyables maux de têtes, ils avaient pris l’habitude de mettre du laudanum dans leur absinthe, véritable «haschich liquide» selon eux.

Quant à Baudelaire fidèle de la Brasserie des Martyrs, à peine arrivé il faisait enlever la carafe d’eau qui se trouvait sur une table à côté de la sienne. “La vue de l’eau m’est insupportable” disait-il d’une voix grave. Il commandait du vin et en buvait quatre ou cinq verres sans sourciller ou bien il absorbait successivement deux ou trois absinthes du même air détaché ou insouciant.

C’est au n°14 de la rue Clauzel que les artistes se pressaient chez le Père Tanguy, fabricant et marchand de couleurs des impressionnistes et des nabis. Ses couleurs en tubes faisaient fureur, libérant les artistes de l’atelier. Arrivé à Paris en mars 1886, Vincent Van Gogh devint vite un habitué de la boutique où il fit connaissance de Cézanne et d’Émile Bernard. C’est au n°17 que vécut Guy de Maupassant, célèbre pour ses nouvelles.

Prenez ensuite la rue Victor Massé. C’est au n°12 que Rodolphe Salis transféra en 1885 son fameux cabaret Le Chat Noir, initialement installé au 84 du Boulevard Rochechouart. Il fut rejoint par le poète Émile Goudeau, fondateur du club des Hydropathes pour lesquels la vue de l’eau était insupportable. Le Chat Noir opéra ainsi la réunion de tous les petits groupes poétiques et littéraires. C’est le célèbre chanteur Aristide Bruant qui acheta à Salis le premier Chat Noir pour en faire son propre cabaret : Le Mirliton dont l’affiche fut réalisée par Toulouse-Lautrec.

Baudelaire était un assidu des dîners littéraires donnés le dimanche au n°4 de la rue Frochot par la belle Apollonie Sabatier, demi-mondaine appelée “la Présidente”. D’origine modeste, Apollonie Sabatier avait été remarquée par le Comte Alfred Mosselman qui en fit sa maîtresse et l’installa dans cet appartement du 1er étage.

A la demande du Comte, le sculpteur Clesinger prit un moulage du corps d’Apollonie et en fit une statue “La Femme piquée par un serpent” qui fit scandale au salon de 1847. épris d’Apollonie, Baudelaire lui adressa, anonymement pendant cinq ans, ses plus beaux poèmes d’amour. A ces diners, Baudelaire retrouvait entre autres artistes et écrivains, Delacroix, Berlioz, les Dumas père et fils et Alfred de Musset.
Ce dernier, joueur d’échecs et buveur d’absinthe, faisait alors partie de l’Académie Française. Comme l’on faisait remarquer au secrétaire de l’Académie que Musset manquait souvent les séances du dictionnaire, celui-ci répondit : “Vous voulez dire qu’il s’absinthe un peu trop !”

Cette promenade à travers le temps a nourri votre imaginaire de toute cette époque de la fin du XIXe et du début du XXe siècles. Les peintres et les poètes vivaient dans ce quartier et se laissaient séduire par la muse inspiratrice, la troublante Fée Verte. C’est l’époque où le nom de l’absinthe évoque immanquablement les cafés enfumés où les artistes refaisaient le monde. C’était également le temps où les nombreux cabarets parisiens rivalisaient d’imagination pour créer une ambiance particulière recherchée par les noctambules. Certains étaient romantiques, d’autres provocateurs. D’autres encore étaient anticléricaux comme le cabaret L’Abbaye de Thélème.
On retrouve tout cet esprit dans l’ancien cabaret le Don Juan qui a existé jusque dans les années cinquante et qui a aujourd’hui laissé place à l’entrée et au Grand Salon de l’hôtel.

Remarquez en entrant face à vous, au dessus des deux marches qui descendent au salon, la boiserie peinte représentant sous la forme d’un triptyque la scène de l’Annonciation à la Vierge Marie par l’Archange Gabriel. Vous découvrirez également la cheminée du salon, ouverte d’origine, et qui serait d’après les historiens une réplique de celle du célèbre cabaret Le Chat Noir. L’âtre ouvert, typique de cette époque anticléricale, symbolisait l’Enfer d’où sortaient, dans un décor de voiles et de foulards représentant les flammes, de jeunes danseuses très légèrement vêtues. Elles s’égayaient ensuite dans la salle parmi les habitués du Don Juan dont faisaient partie, selon la rumeur, plusieurs illustres poètes, peintres et artistes. Ravis, ceux-ci appréciaient le spectacle en dégustant leur absinthe.

Fermer